Community Congratulations


Austin's ABC affiliate, KVUE, has selected WIBDP '19 student Costaki Skevofilax as one of its Five Who Care recipients for his founding leadership of The Sons of Pericles.​

The Sons of Pericles focuses on different projects, primarily the collection, packaging and distribution of food to Austin's homeless population.

Congratulations to Costaki for this wonderful recognition, and to his family and teachers for their support of Costaki's endeavors. 


2019 US Presidential Scholars Program Candidates Announced

Of the 3.6 million American students graduating this year, approximately 4,200 students, or ~0.1% of all students, are invited to compete for this prestigious prize. Congratulations to the six WIBDP '19 students and their families and teachers who were invited to apply for the 2019 US Presidential Scholars Program:

Emma Farkash

Donghyun Kim

Emily Lu

Alisha Rawal

Amy Doan P. Vo

Jenny Xu

And beyond the recognition for your academic achievement, we congratulate you on the dedication, perseverance and hard work that you have put into your education.


Earlier this month, the WHS Tennis Team brought home the UIL Conference 6A State Championship! Two of our IBDP students are on this team -- Gaurav Singh WIBDP '20 and Anirudh Margham WIBDP '20 -- and we would like to congratulate them and their teammates on this historic win!


29 National Merit Semi-finalists in WHS IBDP

It's a nationally recognized academic honor to be a National Merit semi-finalist. This honor is reserved for the top 1% of scores (~16,000 students nationwide) on the PSAT / NMSQT test administered in October of a student's junior year. We would like to recognize these students' effort, and the cumulative support and guidance of their parents, teachers, mentors, and coaches.

Congratulations to:

Maanasa Cherukuvada, Helen Fang, Louis Fernandes, Ruhin Homchowdhury, William Kao, Donghyun Kim, Gaeun Kim, Kyung Min Lee, Richard Liu, Catherine Lu, Derek Lu, Emily Lu, Nalin Mahajan, Aditi Merchant, Linette Page, Tuan Pham, Alisha Rawal, Avinav Saini, Nisha Seyed Mohamed, Nehali Shah, Syedah Shah, Natasha Skergan, Nicole Souydala, Anna Stankes, Sneha Venkatesan, Amy-Doan Vo, Jenny Xu, Angela Zhang, and Jenny Zhang.


Congratulations to our WHS bi-annual JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Award winners!

Among the bi-annual award winners were several WHS IBDP students. Jenny Xu ‘19, Mae Bruce ‘19, and Rosie Deal ‘22 received Superior ratings in their respective events of Newswriting, Review writing, and YB copy/caption: Academics. Excellent ratings were also awarded to Emily Lu ‘19, Sathvik Allala ‘20, and Sarah Wang ‘20 in their Sports writing, Graphic Design: Logo, and Graphic Design: Advertising contests. Lizzie Deal ‘19 and Hayden Swanson ‘21 were recognized as Honorable Mention in Feature Writing and Newspaper Editing.


Share Your Family's Achievement

The IBDP values achievement along every dimension -- academic, athletic, artistic, community engagement, etc. Please share with us your family's story. We would not only love to congratulate your student, but also to let others know about the amazing things our students are doing in and out of the classroom!

(By sharing this information, you give us permission to publish it in our communications.)